David Stern dies

I have mixed feelings about this guy. The NBA certainly grew in popularity on his watch, but … Tim Donaghy.

https://news.yahoo.com/former-nba-commissioner-david-stern-dies-at-77-210616601.html

I’m not an expert on NBA commissioners but I think I would take David Stern anyday over the Social Justice Warrior Adam Silver.

Just my marginally educated 2 pennies.

Fair enough.

I think Stern may have also been the Jedi Master to NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman’s Padawan.

And yeah, Bettman getting booed when he awards the Stanley Cup is an annual ritual, but NHL revenues and the salary cap he put in place have both grown steadily during his tenure … and the league is fixing to add its 32nd team in Seattle next season.

During Stern’s tenure in the NBA, there were always these (unproven) rumblings that the league offices were influencing outcomes in order to boost ratings in key markets. The Donaghy scandal didn’t help that perception, especially since one of the most egregious Donaghy rig jobs put the Lakers in the Finals ahead of Sacramento.

Maybe we’ll know the truth of it all ten years from now.

1 Like

I’ve always thought Donaghy himself was one of the officials of this game, but it turns out he wasn’t. He just alleged that the officiating of that game was rigged by the NBA: